Settled in 1791 as a center for lumbering and hay, the Town of Phillips sits on the banks of the Sandy River. In 1879 the Sandy River and Rangeley Lakes railroad connected Phillips to the larger town of Farmington and brought their mill products to market. Mechanized lumbering techniques have changed the industry and kept this occupation alive. Sledders can still see working lumber yards as the trail skirts around the edge of the mill and uses part of the old railroad bed.
The Town of Strong sits on a hilly inter vale above a big bend on the Sandy River. It was crowned “The Toothpick Capital of The World” when the strong mill was producing 20 million toothpicks a day. Sledders are treated to long trails winding around the river and over fields with picturesque views of the town, which was settled in 1784.
Avon / Phillips / Strong – Black Fly Loop Trail Sponsors
OR go directly to: